Maple Syrup Grading

For years, Vermont maple syrup has been divided into one of four grades based on color and flavor.  As consumer preference has changed over the past century, so too has the grading system evolved to provide a more accurate description based on consumer preference.  The names of each grade, however, did not necessarily provide a meaningful description of the syrup.  For instance, with no prior knowledge of maple syrup grades, Grade B does not mean much other than suggesting it would be a lesser quality than Grade A.

Beginning in 2014, Vermont maple syrup producers will start using a new grading system that will provide a better description of each grade, or class, of syrup.  Each grade will state a color and a flavor descriptor:

  • Grade A: Golden Color with Delicate Taste
  • Grade A: Amber Color with Rich Taste
  • Grade A: Dark Color with Robust Taste
  • Grade A: Very Dark Color with Strong Taste

This chart shows the new grades in comparison to the old grading system.








*Information from